Skin

Tonight, I peel indifference from my face
and hang it up for tomorrow.
Ice is melting. A flood will take me soon
as my body tries to mend. A two-inch puddle
of regret is enough to drown in.
I can never go home again.

One day, I might rent a floor in a busy city.
I might spread my nerves around just enough
to find them.
I will step quickly, palpitate on
hard wood, and scrub off old footprints
that walked there before me.
Empty space for my Self to rot in.

I will peel the skin of potatoes and think
of the last time I kept someone warm,
and like my face, I will lay the skin aside,
to shrivel and dry, as I,

and home will become so long ago,
from a place where my body was fresh, but cold,
from a time when a young man whispered his flames
against my bare shoulder, and
I fell in to him and froze.

25 thoughts on “Skin

  1. I keep reading that last line, very powerful image, very good word structure. I’m very fond of lines that seem to change each time you re read.

  2. Completely unrelated, but the title in your header reminds me of William Carlos William’s “This is Just to Say.” It actually is related because you have a way of taking the ugly events/items in life and beautifying them just like him.

  3. This is brilliant, especially your use of images. Something is happening to your poetry and I like it – a kind of coming together. I liked your poems before, but this even more.

Leave a Reply

