Egg Allergy

Sad streets are thirsty. They have battled boiling
dreams since glue
drops
dripped on squalid carpet.

Slut!
Mixing flour and water in
three day dirt. So,

I went to collect hens’ eggs.
I stole them.
A pretty red hen was never
offered papers to sign,
to relinquish! I just
took them.

I am grateful for the Bulgarians! They
didn’t crack my egg
and eat her for breakfast! They
decorated her in pink bows,
shined her up for the world.

That poor hen. She would have
been a great mother, but her egg
was scrambled and puked up
by an allergy!

 

20 thoughts on “Egg Allergy

  1. Wow, Maggie. I’m getting images and connections in my head that had never occurred to me before. One thing I love about poetry is that it can mean something unique to each reader. Your tags give me hints as to the meanings, so I appreciate that. Can you give me a hint as to the connection between the sad streets and the hen?

  2. Incredible… looking at the various reactions to this poem in the comments is fascinating. A completely different, sometimes completely opposite, reaction from every one of those who read it, including me….(though I confess to unworthiness with this one; I haven’t a clue to your metaphoric meaning, but, it doesn’t matter anyway, because it’s power of vision drags me into it whether I understand it or not…a not uncommon reaction on my part to what you write..) But the strength of this one, I think, lies in that very amorphous quality, one that produced, and produces, such a wide variety of responses…. I agree with David, above, when he said…and I quote, “Whew!” Great stuff, Maggie, as always…. 🙂

  3. You know I’m usually pretty good at understanding these things, but I have to admit, I’m a bit lost on this one. I think I have a few ideas but nothing solid. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the reading of it. Thanks for liking my blog. I look forward to reading more of yours. 🙂

  4. ” no one understands it
    It never says “love me” for poets are
    beyond love
    it never says “accept me” for poems seek not
    acceptance but controversy”
    ~ Nikki Giovanni

Leave a Reply

