Substitute

You’re in my closet again
trying on my heels
coaxing my jeans to shrink
shrink
to just under
nourished

I have a face for you
glued on
golden fish eyes
a sassy little smack
and a painted
pout

for recognition

you wouldn’t know me otherwise

I drank a tube of toothpaste
a bottle of Kracken
and
coerced my female intuition
into
your rough clutch

you pinched
my finger tips
one-by-one
dressing them in frilly little
dresses

then my neck
choked with the devil’s diamonds

you kneel down
lips to my naked knee
a
soft
kiss of approval

I am ready.

12 thoughts on “Substitute

  1. Wow, vibrant feeling from your words…You have a great way with words and visual imagery. Love it….you can describe anything so beautifully, I’m just awed….:)

  2. Unsubtle and erotic. Evokes a masculine reaction, although I’m not about to grope your closet and try on your heels. 🙂

    Hot.

  3. Like many of your other poems Maggie, one of the qualities that engages me is the sinister physicality of the smallest details you choose to describe. The fingertips for example. Made me look at my hands!

Leave a Reply

