They Try To Erase Me

I never had been born. It was old hands
that sketched my frame. Hands that knew how to suffer
wisely. It was a gift
to my bones, a curse that shifts
with weight and time.
Clocks wait on scales to tip time. I am rushed.
Blood cycles through my life.
Old lines outline my eyes. I am timed.

I slept with a man
and was traced. He recreated me; my child.
My simple face on a prettier canvas.
I didn’t wish for this.
I didn’t dream.
She just belongs to me.
I drag my bones along aching seas
each step pains deeper with memory,
with time.
Dark lines shade over mine.
They try to erase me

From my bones, I cry.
I cannot be
an easy sketch of a memory.

About Maggie Mae

"I write because I must". I am a poet of dark imagery. I write what I feel and how I see the world at given moments. I love connecting with other writers and seeing life through their eyes, (in words). If you like what you find here, please check out my chapbook, Some Things Ache In The Dark. It is available @ http://writingknightspress.blogspot.com/2013/05/some-things-ache-in-dark-by-maggie-mae.html.

Posted on May 13, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. We leave our mark in this world. We express emotions.

  2. This is so beautiful. I love the emotions in your poetry, they are so pure and uncovered.

  3. That was really lovely, thank you.

  4. Yes there is definitely a purity with your writing

  5. I can connect with this intimately. Great writing. Spoons to you.

  6. Wow. Thank you! Appreciate your work and look forward to more.

  7. Wow that is beautiful. Appreciate your work and look forward to more.

  8. I like this – particularly the stark and startling first line.

  9. I really enjoy how the words were crafted in this poem. I can really sense the depths of your heart crying out onto the page. I would really appreciate it if you would check out my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/kbeezyisviral

  10. Maggie Mae, you rock, your writing rocks, your writing so moves me that I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award at http://kittomalley.com/2014/06/06/very-inspiring-blogger-award/. Thank you.

  11. “Hands that knew how to suffer wisely.”

    Now that is a punch in the gut sentence. Beautifully crafted.

  12. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    “FROM MY BONES I CRY”

  1. Pingback: Life Is For …… | Carl's Rants & Raves

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,189 other followers

