Like I Am

I did not touch yesterday, like I say I did.
My fingerprints are missing.
I lost them on a glass man,
wrapped my hands around

his whiskey sour, like I shouldn’t have.
He mingled with fire over
victory, like a beast gnawing
on my shoulder

I looked over his shadow like I owned him,
but daylight quickly ended, now
here I am. Fingertips dripping
off frozen glass,

as miserable as I planned it,
and here I still sit,

alone and empty-handed.

About Maggie Mae

"I write because I must". I am a poet of dark imagery. I write what I feel and how I see the world at given moments. I love connecting with other writers and seeing life through their eyes, (in words). If you like what you find here, please check out my chapbook, Some Things Ache In The Dark. It is available @ http://writingknightspress.blogspot.com/2013/05/some-things-ache-in-dark-by-maggie-mae.html.

Posted on May 9, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I really liked this very much. Reminded me of what female Leonard Cohen song would be like. >KB

  2. Another hit! Fantastic! Thank you!!!

  3. Hey there Maggie Mae – love the very strong images here. Very visual.

  4. lovely imagery, as always, superbly written

  5. Boom! Wow…I love this, Maggie!!! :)

  6. What can I say? Simply beautiful and moving poem. Thank you.

  7. Love it. The quick fire of defeat.

  8. I’m always in love with your poetry. It always strikes deep in my emotions.

  1. Pingback: Like I Am | Missing Peace

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,622 other followers

