Copper Loaded Love

A green barrette, a gun.
Good-bye, my lady.

If I cut my hands off, my lucky gun would fit.

I gave three seconds and died
happy, life is just a lesson.
You are thirty seconds to the grave,
I am just a prison.

You’re Irish season swallows poison,
we terrified your liver. Good-
bye, my lady,
I am drowning in a river.

Everybody is looking,
I have your money here.
You cheat! You’re a cheat, painting courage over
with fear.

My white girl, I love you,
with a dark and heavy gun.
I shot you up, a million shots
with copper loaded love.

Drink your dark poison,
swallow your tainted love.
Good-bye. my lovely lady,
your green barrette, your gun.

About Maggie Mae

"I write because I must". I am a poet of dark imagery. I write what I feel and how I see the world at given moments. I love connecting with other writers and seeing life through their eyes, (in words). If you like what you find here, please check out my chapbook, Some Things Ache In The Dark. It is available @ http://writingknightspress.blogspot.com/2013/05/some-things-ache-in-dark-by-maggie-mae.html.

Posted on April 24, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I suffer from debilitating anxiety. A sudden sound invariably makes my heart flutter and a b burning sensation throughout my body. I cope best with my cat around and trying to do right by others.

  2. Dark emotions ooze from your words as if lost in confusion.

  3. Wickedly good, Maggie! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,130 other followers

